The Hollywood Hermit Shares a Piece of Sky

 

I love my piece of sky

Like a curious rectangle, or the 51st state

It frames my view of the amniotic breath

Of the Earth; outline of the day

Window at night

Down below, the mewling

And puking actors stage

Big City dramas

Trying to forget cornfields

And the big, big sky

My piece is just the right size

Enough for me, no less no more

Here in the unfashionable center of

The City of Angels

Dreams deferred, not now

They flock here looking

For a piece of something

Bigger than themselves

Stars twinkle, blocking traffic

Proving their importance

My piece of sky, interrupted daily

By helicopters, and at night

Klieg lights

Announcing the soon forgotten

Above, the stars remain

In summer my piece of sky

Shows me the big dipper on one side

Little on the other

And if the stars can hear

My neighbors’ shouts and grunts and prayers

They don’t let on

2 thoughts on “The Hollywood Hermit Shares a Piece of Sky

Leave a Reply

