Whole Lotta Koz Goin’ On!

The Pottery 90210 Holiday Sale was a tremendous success! What an amazing experience, to spend 5 consecutive days working with a group of people in a relatively small space, and have it be a fun, educational, organized, and successful event, without once encountering problems or flaring of egos. How refreshing it is to have adult friends who are actually grown-ups.  It was also the first time most of my art has seen the light of day, and I got some really great feedback. The whole experience was an affirmation that I have been on the right path, and I look forward to having another big art sale in the Spring. Meanwhile, our temporary gallery will remain open by appointment until the end of the year.

But now it is time to clear away the clay dust and make way for sparkles! Tonight I will be dancing for the first time ever to live music in front of an audience. Well, maybe not ever. There was that whole thing that happened at the Tinariwen show. But this is going to be a real performance: costume,  zills, veil, the whole nine yards.

The only live music I’ve ever performed to was with the Ben Gunn Society, but that was not bellydance. Tonight I’ll be dancing in the American Cabaret style at Anaheed and Anja’s Holiday party in Granada Hills. In case you’d like to know more about where that style comes from, I just had an article published at FolkWorks magazine. I’m excited, but confident about tonight. I know Var and Ricco’s music really well as I’ve helped out at nearly all Anaheed’s major events for the last 5 years. That’s why a lot of dancers in the local community recognize me, but they can never remember from where, because I so rarely get up on stage. But I’ve been preparing to get back out there for a while. And of course, when it rains, it pours. A week from tonight I’ll be dancing again, to an Egyptian song at Club Cleopatra.

It’s like a faucet, this creativity thing. It builds up inside you, like you’re a well being filled with water from an unknown source.  You have to open a tap to let it flow out or it will only leak out in messy and unproductive ways. I’ve been trying to hold all this stuff inside all my life, bulging at the seams and leaking terribly. I feel like for the first time ever I’ve figured out not just where the tap is, but how to turn it on without soaking or scalding myself. This is good.

One thought on “Whole Lotta Koz Goin’ On!

Leave a Reply

